Flying out on faith

Gallery
Info
Comments
  • Luke 9:23-25: Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. 24 If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. 25 And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but are yourself lost or destroyed?

     My mother told me I was the type of child who when I got it in my mind to do something, I did it. I have a picture of myself when I was about 4…standing up, legs crossed, leaning against the prop with the “Ugh…is this over yet?” face. Total outtake. Every time I look at this picture, I’m convinced even more that this is true. I can see the determination and drive of someone who sees what they want and goes for it – never mind how it might look. I also believe from looking at this picture that God definitely has a sense of humor.

     But looking back on how I actually remember myself to be, I think I would see the cliff, get a running start and fly off it. And it was never anything horrible or really bad. I just made up my mind to do something and then went after it. But I’m blessed that God is a merciful God, abounding in compassion because not every decision we make is always the right one – even if we made it from the heart. 

    Now, I see the cliff and pray before I even make a move…I pray for guidance, for understanding, for light in dark places, for wind beneath my wings, for protection, for strength. Sometimes I still get it wrong – I still fly out there thinking I have it right. But I know that life is the way it should be when I live and move and have my being in him…Because flying only has meaning if God is the one taking you there.

     Proverbs 24:3 “3 A house is built by wisdom
      and becomes strong through good sense.
     4 Through knowledge its rooms are filled
      with all sorts of precious riches and valuables”.

  • What do you think?

    