A message behind a smile

Joel 2:25, NLT: “The LORD says, “I will give you back what you lost to the swarming locusts, the hopping locusts, the stripping locusts, and the cutting locusts. It was I who sent this great destroying army against you.”

I think my smile might be my ministry. I remember when I was growing up people always told me to smile and I would think “Why?” But now I know I have a lot to smile about. Doesn’t mean I don’t need time to recuperate from something I just saw or experienced. In fact, I know that’s essential to maintaining mental health. So I won’t always be smiling. But I know I have a lot to smile about because God finally reached me where I was and restored me. And I happen to know He’s not finished!

Cry when you need to. Take a break if that’s what you need to keep from quitting. Frown while you sit with your sadness and process it. But always remember that the joy of the Lord is your strength!

 

2 thoughts on “A message behind a smile

  1. This is an excellent post Afi. It reminds me of a song the folks at my church used to sing. “Smile a while and give your face a rest. Raise your hands to the one you love the best. Then shake hands with those nearby, and greet them with a smile.”

What do you think?

