Happy Veteran’s Day!

Psalms 20: 7, NLT: “Some nations boast of their chariots and horses, but we boast in the name of the Lord our God”

I talk a lot about David because his love for God and God’s faithfulness to him amazes me. But on this Veteran’s Day, I think about David because I think David had seen enough in battle to make even the strongest man fall apart. Yet he didn’t. If you read David’s story from start to finish, it reads like he lived in battle for 1,000 years. His calling was not pretty, but someone had to do it.

It still catches me by surprise when someone sees me in my uniform, walks up to me, shakes my hand and thanks me for my service. Because the truth is that I thank God that He allows me to do what I do. I’m thankful that I’m a commissioned Supply Officer in the United States Navy. A lot of who I am today, much of my growth in my walk with God…I owe it to the opportunity He gave me in joining the Navy. It’s not always an easy job. But someone has to do it.

Today I think about all my brothers and sisters of all branches of the armed forces – retired, active duty, veteran and reserve. Many have given the ultimate sacrifice. Many have missed significant milestones in their families’ lives. Others are the family members that only a few people know because they’re “never home”. And yet others have seen tragedies, experienced natural disasters, endured trauma, and barely escaped combat with their lives. They did and do the job that many cannot and will not do. I thank God for them and what they have given.

But as for me…I’m just grateful that I am getting to know God more and more through my time in the military. I’m grateful that my experience in the Navy has allowed me to learn that it is ultimately God who saves and protects. Wherever He leads me in my time in the military, I’m going.

One thought on “Happy Veteran’s Day!

What do you think?

