I’m standing up…and I want my stuff back.

Luke 13: 10 – 13, NLT: “One Sabbath day as Jesus was teaching in a synagogue,  he saw a woman who had been crippled by an evil spirit. She had been bent double for eighteen years and was unable to stand up straight. When Jesus saw her, he called her over and said, “Dear woman, you are healed of your sickness!” Then he touched her, and instantly she could stand straight. How she praised God!”

This past summer, a minister by the name of Corliss Heath taught a seminar at my hometown church in the women’s conference about this woman in this passage. She asked us “What has YOU bent over?”

When I read this passage recently, I wondered what in fact had this woman bent over so. How badly had life beaten her down? What happened to her that she couldn’t stand up straight? And what was life like for her – always only being able to literally see the ground you walk on and not the path ahead of you?

Then I realized her condition can be likened to lack of hope. I know what that’s like. I know it’s possible to have faith in God and just not have hope that He would do a certain thing for you. Not because of negative thinking, but just because you know that God is God and that His will does not always include healing you or making your situation better.

But whatever this woman’s condition, Jesus thought it best to tell her that she was made upright and not bent over. The Message puts it this way: “’Woman, you’re free!’ He laid hands on her and suddenly she was standing straight and tall, giving glory to God.” He knew her true purpose: “And I will give them one heart and one purpose: to worship me forever…” (Jeremiah 32:40). I like to think she knew it too because worship and giving God the honor and praise was her immediate response to her restoration. I love how she stood up, took her stuff back and worshipped God with all of it!

I love what T.D. Jakes said about her. He said that God told her something she didn’t know about herself and as soon as she heard it, SHE straightened herself up. In one of his Facebook posts, he said that true deliverance comes when God gives you a truth about you that you didn’t know before.

So what has YOU bent over?

Jeremiah 33:3, NLT: “This is what the Lord says – the Lord who made the earth, who formed and established it, whose name is the Lord: Ask me and I will tell you remarkable secrets you do not know about things to come”

4 thoughts on “I’m standing up…and I want my stuff back.

  1. Afi, there is an old song I used to like: “I went into the enemy’s camp and took back what he stole from me”. Luke 10:19, reminds us that God has given us power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

    Thanks for sharing. Go ahead Afi, take your stuff back. God blesses.

    • Hey Noel! I think I’ve heard that song before…but I love redemption and restoration. It says like nothing else to me that Godis who He says He is and that He is not a person…He is beyond all comprehension but chooses to reveal Himself to us by changing and restoring us! God bless and thank you for stopping by.

  2. Hi Afi, good to see how God is using you. I was truly blessed by this word and I encourage you to keep standing up so that you can get everything you have that’s coming to you! Love ya!!!

What do you think?

