Why God…WHY?

Isaiah 58:10, NLT: “Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness, and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon”.

I used to be the Queen of Why God Why. But one day I asked that question and He answered me. He said “Because you’re not doing what I told you to do. You’re not being who I created you to be. And you are NOT answering the call I have on your life”.

Ouch. But then again not really, because I was at a stage in my life where I was starting to know God for who He really is. He’s a God who hears our cries. He’s a high priest who is within our reach. He cares for us. He has good plans for us that include success and prosperity. So for Him to tell me something like that…well, let’s just say it was some tough love. Because the Lord disciplines those that He loves.

But I think this scripture has two layers. First, some of the things that happen to us we bring on ourselves – whether we knew better or not. Second, there are things in our lives that happen to us that we cannot control that leave us winded, broken, with the rug pulled out from under us, knocked down to the floor, feeling like we were buried alive. Through it all, though, darkness can still be transformed to light when we focus on God and rely on His love for us while we push through our trouble.

Whether we are at fault or not when it comes to trauma, trials or tribulations…we need to know that God is God.

Isaiah 45:3, NLT: “And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness–secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name”.

2 thoughts on “Why God…WHY?

  1. Amen to that sister! “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7).

What do you think?

